MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTOR OF THE FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT HELD: February 1, 1971

THE STATE OF TEXAS

FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

ON THIS the 1st day of February, 1971, the Board of Directors of the FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT convened in regular session at the regular meeting place thereof in their office located in the courthouse at Mt. Vernon, Texas, with the following members present:

W. C. NEWSOME	PRESIDENT
LANDON RAMSAY	VICE PRESIDENT
HORRIS MORRIS	SECRETARY
A. J. LAWS	DIRECTOR
K. P. LESTER	DIRECTOR

and with the following absent: NONE.

The President of the Board called the meeting to order, declared a quorum present and that the meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

The Minutes of January 18, 1971 were read and approved.

Motion was made by Landon Ramsay, and duly seconded by A. J. Laws, to adopt the following RESOLUTION and ORDER by the Board of Directors of Franklin County Water District calling an Election for the purpose of electing Directors.

RESOLUTION AND ORDER BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT CALLING AN ELECTION FOR THE PURPOSE OF ELECTING DIRECTORS.

Whereas, by virtue of the provisions of Article 8280-341, V.A.T.C.S., it is necessary that an election be held in Franklin County Water District on April 6, 1971, for the purpose of electing three Directors of such District to serve until the first Tuesday in April, 1973, and thereafter until their successors have been declared elected and qualified; therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED AND ORDERED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT:

<u>Section 1:</u> That an election be held on the 6th day of April, 1971, the same being the first Tuesday in April, 1971, within said Franklin County Water District, Franklin County, Texas, for the purpose of submitting to the resident qualified electors of said District the following:

THE ELECTION of three Directors of said FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT to serve until the First Tuesday in April, 1973, and thereafter until their successors have been declared elected and qualified.

Section 2: That the manner of holding said election shall be governed by the General Laws of the State of Texas, except as otherwise provided by Article 8280-341, V.A.T.C.S., and all resident qualified electors shall be entitled to vote.

Section 3: To be eligible for the office of Director a person must be at lease twenty-one years of age, reside in and own land in the territorial limits of the District.

VOL 3, PAGE

Section 4: The polling places and Presiding Judges for the aforesaid election shall be respectively as follows:

POLLING PLACE	PRESIDING JUDGE
Winnsboro Box Franklin County Building	F. O. Browing
South Franklin Box South Franklin School	W. B. Swanner
Mount Vernon Box Franklin County Courthouse	L. L. Meek
Hagansport Box Hagansport School	Martha Hare

The Presiding Judge of a SPECIAL CANVASSING BOARD for absentee balloting shall be S. E. Findley.

The Presiding Judge serving at each polling place shall appoint one Assistant Judge and at lease two (2) Clerks to assist in holding such election.

ABSENTEE VOTING shall be conducted by the County Clerk at his office in the Courthouse at Mount Vernon, Texas, in accordance with the provisions of chapter 424, Acts of the 58th Legislature, Regular Session, 1963, and said Clerk shall keep his office open between the hours of 8:00 A. M. and 5:00 P. M. (constituting the Clerk's regular working hours) on each day for absentee voting which is not a Saturday, a Sunday, or an official State Holiday.

Section 5: That the ballots for said election shall be prepared in sufficient numbers and in conformity with Chapter 6, V.A.T.C.S., Election Code, and that written or printed on such ballots shall appear the following:

OFFICIAL BALLOT

LANDON RAMSAY A. L. LAWS K. P. LESTER

If any above named are not desired, voted should Strike name and write name of person desired in blank Space.

<u>Section 6:</u> The election officials from each polling shall make due returns of said election in triplicate to the Board of Directors within five (5) days, one to be retained by the Presiding Judge, one to be delivered to the President of the Board of Directors of the District and one to be delivered to the Secretary thereof.

<u>Section 7:</u> The Board of Director shall give notice of the election herein ordered by publishing a true copy thereof, signed by the President and attested by the Secretary, in a newspaper of general circulation published in Franklin County, Texas, once a week for three consecutive weeks, the first publication to appear at least twenty-one (21) day prior to the date of said election and not more than thirty-five (35) days prior thereto.

PASSED, APPROVED and ADOPTED, this the 1st day of February, 1971.

W. C. Newsome, President Board of Directors Franklin County Water District

Attest:

Horris Morris, Secretary Board of Directors Franklin County Water District

VOL 3, PAGE

After the Resolution was read aloud and discussed, President Newsome put the Resolution to a vote and the vote was as follows: Ayes: Directors Newsome Ramsay, Morris, Laws and Lester. Nays: NONE.

The following Notice was issued by the Board:

NOTICE OF ELECTION

THE STATE OF TEXAS

FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

TO ALL RESIDENT QUALIFIED ELECTORS OF FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT:

NOTICE is hereby given that an election will be held on the 6th day of April, 1971, in FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT for the election of three Directors, said election to be held in accordance with the resolution and Order passed by the Board of Directors of said District on the 1st day of February, 1971, said Resolution and Ordered being made a part of this Notice for all intents and purposes.

THIS NOTICE of election is issued and given by the undersigned, pursuant to authority conferred by virtue of the attached Resolution and Order of the Board of Directors of FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT and under authority of law.

WITNESS OUR HAND AND THE SEAL OF SAID DISTRICT, this the 1st day of February, 1971.

W. C. Newsome, President Board of Directors Franklin County Water District

Attest:

Horris Morris, Secretary Board of Directors Franklin County Water District